Club History

The Wagga Tigers Football & Netball Club Inc. is proud to be one of the longest standing Australian Football Sides in Wagga Wagga.

Football in the area started in 1861 in which we were known as The Federals – wearing Red & White Verticals. The name The Federal’s originated from the Hotel know as the Imperial, this was located next to where the Mill Units are currently being built. The club’s first Premiership side was back in 1887. Following on from the War we became known as the Wagga Tigers. After the war the club borrowed jumpers from the RAAF, these were Blue & White in colour. It wasn’t until 1949 before we actually wore new jumpers which were acquired via the Richmond Football Club. Hence Wagga Tigers as it is today was born.

We played in many a league in and surrounding Wagga before settling in the RFL. We have had many Premiership’s throughout this time in 1st Grade, these being:
1957/58/59, 1961/62, 1975, 1977/78, 1980/81, 1985, 1993/94/95, 1997/98/99, 2001 & 2007 , 2016 – 20 in total.

Our club has been well represented in the VFL/AFL over the years. Some of the players who have played AFL/VFL after representing Wagga Tigers at the 1st Grade level are,

Bill Lampe ~ South Melbourne
Jack Mohr ~ St Kilda
John Bradley ~ Footscray
Ted Obudzinski ~ South Melbourne
Neville Miller ~ South Melbourne
Paul Kelly ~ Sydney Swans
Mill Mohr ~ St Kilda
Ron Birch ~ Footscray
John Pitura ~ South Melbourne, Richmond
Kim Kershaw ~ Richmond, Hawthorn
Paul Hawke ~ Sydney Swans, Collingwood
James Byrne ~ Adelaide
Brad Seymour ~ Sydney Swans
Matthew Suckling ~ Hawthorn

Wagga Tigers Proudly Sponsored By...